Penns Northeast Logo
Attracting Quality Employers to Northeastern Pennsylvania!

Governor’s Awards For The Arts 2018 to be Held in Scranton


Scranton, Pa - 2018 AWARDS CEREMONY


The 2018 awards ceremony will take place on August 8 at 7 p.m. at the Scranton Cultural Center at the Masonic Temple, 420 N. Washington Street, Scranton, PA 18503.

The ceremony is free and open to the public, though attendees are asked to reserve tickets via the Scranton Cultural Center website.


The 2018 honorees are:

Quiara Alegría Hudes, Philadelphia native – Distinguished Arts Award: Pulitzer Prize- and Tony Award-winning playwright, revered for her richly imaginative and intellectually rigorous work. Hudes’ plays and musicals include Water By the Spoonful, and In the Heights.


Mira Nakashima, New Hope – Lifetime Achievement in the Arts: Renowned furniture designer known for her unparalleled knowledge and mastery of wood; director and custodian of the George Nakashima Woodworker studio and property.


Tina Williams Brewer, Pittsburgh – Artist of the Year Award: Internationally-renowned fiber artist known for her artistic exploration of African American history and culture. Brewer uses symbolism and textiles to create story quilts that reflect issues of family, women and children, and spirituality of the culture. 


C.F. Martin & Co., Inc., Nazareth – Special Recognition for Advancing the Arts: Six-generation, family owned and world-renowned guitar maker with a 185-year history of crafting hand-made instruments using innovative techniques. Martin guitars and Martin strings have been played by countless musicians, including Elvis Presley, Paul McCartney and Eric Clapton.


Scribe Video Center, Philadelphia – Arts Leadership & Service Award: National leader with a 35-year history of community-based film, video, audio, and new media programs. Founded by MacArthur “Genius Award” winner, Louis Massiah, Scribe is particularly known for exploring, developing and advancing electronic media to advance social change. 


The history of the Governor’s Awards for the Arts represent a Pennsylvania tradition that began in 1980 by Governor Dick Thornburgh. Presented annually in Harrisburg at the State Capitol, these awards honored artists in each of the following categories: painting, sculpture, photography, music, literature, dance, theatre, crafts, and media arts. An award was also made for "service to the arts." The awards, which recognized Pennsylvanians who contributed their creative talents to their communities, were named the Hazlett Memorial Awards for Excellence in the Arts, after the late Theodore L. Hazlett Jr. of Pittsburgh, the first chairman of the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. The awards were administered by the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. A Distinguished Pennsylvania Artist Award was also established to be chosen by the Governor. [Note: No standard policy was established for this category, but it was generally agreed that the recipient would be a native Pennsylvanian and an artist of world renown.]


Following the 1982 awards, the Hazlett awards were presented in no more than six disciplines, in alternating years, and architecture was added as a category.


The awards were suspended in 1987 in the first year of Governor Robert P. Casey’s administration. In 1988, through his cultural advisor’s office, Governor Casey established "a comprehensive Governor’s awards program" with the Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts, Humanities, and Sciences "to honor outstanding individual creativity and achievement, to focus attention upon the critical importance of the arts, humanities, and sciences in the life of an enlightened democratic society, and to pay tribute to Pennsylvania’s rich cultural and intellectual traditions." A single award was presented in each area.


In 1996, oversight and administration of the Governor’s Awards returned to the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. Four new award categories were established by Governor Tom Ridge to recognize not only the contributions of Pennsylvania’s individual artists and patrons of the arts, but also the outstanding arts organizations which make the Commonwealth a leader in the cultural life of the nation. For the first time, a category was established which recognizes the significant contributions to the arts made by corporations and foundations (the Patron Award).


Please note that the Governor's Awards for the Arts did not take place in 2015 or 2016. It is customary for a new gubernatorial administration to use the first year in office to consider changes to the event that will reflect the administration's interests and priorities, including but not limited to award categories. For this reason, the Governor's Awards for the Arts also did not occur in 1987, 1995, 2003, or 2011.


Currently, the Governor's Office has developed five award categories:


The Distinguished Arts Award recognizes a Pennsylvania artist of international fame, leadership or renown whose creations or contributions enrich the state.


The Patron Award recognizes an individual, corporation, or foundation patron's significant contributions to the vitality and availability of the arts in Pennsylvania.


The Arts Leadership & Service/Arts Innovation Award recognizes an organization or individual(s) for outstanding leadership and service or innovation in the arts.


The Artist of the Year Award (The Hazlett Memorial Award) recognizes an individual artist for their creations and contributions to the excellence of the arts in Pennsylvania.

Add to Report

back to news archive.